Founding Organizations


The School of Global Environmental Sustainability is an umbrella organization that encompasses all environmental education and research at the university. Part of its mission is to engage the public and policy makers in translating SoGES discoveries into practical solutions for environmental problems, which is the role of a land-grant institution with a global perspective. Research focal areas include: Food Security, Climate Change & Energy, Environmental Institutions and Governance, Land and Water Resources, Sustainable Communities, and Biodiversity, Conservation and Management.

Key participant: Dr. Diana H. Wall

Netherlands Institute of Ecology/Wageningen Centre for Soil Ecology
The Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW) at Wageningen conducts terrestrial and freshwater ecological research, with the aim of elucidating how living organisms interact with each other and with their surroundings. The Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO) is a top research institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).

Key Participant: Dr. Wim van der Putten


The University of Manchester- Faculty of Life Sciences is very proud of the education and training opportunities that we provide for all our students during their time here. The Faculty attracts the best students from around the world, and has diverse research activities spanning the whole of the life sciences. Our reputation as one of the best life science faculties in the country for both teaching and research quality is supported by the latest National Student Survey results and our outstanding performance in the recent Research Assessment Exercise.

Key Participant: Dr. Richard Bardgett

ETH Zurich is one of the leading international universities for technology and the natural sciences. It is well-known for its excellent education, ground-breaking fundamental research and for putting its new findings directly into practice. It offers researchers an inspiring working environment and its students a comprehensive education. Founded in 1855, ETH Zurich today has some 18,000 students from over 100 different countries, 3,800 of whom are doctoral students. About 500 professors currently teach and conduct research in the areas of engineering, architecture, mathematics, natural sciences, system-oriented sciences, and management and social sciences.

Key Participant: Dr. Johan Six


The European Commission, Joint Research Centre is the scientific and technical arm of the European Commission. It is providing the scientific advice and technical know-how to support a wide range of EU policies. Its status as a Commission service, which guarantees independence from private or national interests, is crucial for pursuing its mission. The JRC has seven scientific institutes, located at five different sites in Belgium, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain, with a wide range of laboratories and unique research facilities. Through numerous collaborations, access to many facilities is granted to scientists from partner organizations.

Key Participant: Dr. Luca Montanarella